Archives › CA Wage & Hour

Employers Cited for Subcontractor’s $1.6 Million in Wage Theft

Contracting for Labor? Employers Cited for Subcontractor’s $1.6 Million in Wage Theft

New expanded tests for determining who is CA independent contractor

Expanded tests for CA independent contractors On September 18, California Governor Newsom signed Assembly Bill 5 into law. The law expands the use of the “ABC test” to determine if workers in California are employees or independent contractors. Read more:   Under the ABC test, a worker is presumed to be an employee unless the […]

Makeup time in CA not overtime if certain conditions are met

Makeup time in CA not overtime if certain conditions are met. Makeup time is one of the rare occurrences under California law that employees have flexibility to adjust their work schedule to accommodate for important life events that come up from time to time. Makeup time allows employees to take time off and then make it […]

State-by-State Rules on Payroll Debit Cards, aka Paycards

There has been much talk and a lot of reports on the use of paycards. Every day, more workers insist on using paycards to receive their wages. I’m often asked if paycards are legal to use in various states. The simple answer is… read more

Gig Economy Business Model Dealt a Blow in California Ruling – Independent Contractor v. Employee

In a ruling with potentially sweeping consequences for the so-called gig economy, the California Supreme Court on Monday made it much more difficult for companies to classify workers as independent contractors rather than employees. Read more…

New Overtime Rule Effective 12/1/2016

The new overtime final rule will become effective on December 1, 2016, giving employers more than six months to prepare. The final rule does not make any changes to the duties test for executive, administrative and professional employees, but does: Raise the salary threshold indicating eligibility from $455/week to $913 ($47,476 per year), ensuring protections […]

CA Minimum Wage Increases to $10 per hour

Effective January 1, 2016, the minimum wage in California is $10.00 per hour. Read more…

New California Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Law begins 7/15/15

Healthy Workplace Healthy Family Act of 2014 (AB 1522)   See overview: See FAQ:   An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment, is entitled to paid sick leave. Employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at […]

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) Minimum Wage Poster

Minimum Wage Laws in the States

What employees are exempt from hourly pay provisions of the FLSA?

Many employers want to treat their employees as salary employees instead of hourly employees. There are big potential problems if you do this with an employee that is not exempt from the minimum wage rules of the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act). Note that certain states have wage and hour rules that are more stringent […]